Susquehanna Sweeps Landmark Conference Awards

Joel Patch

Susquehanna University swept the four major men’s basketball awards handed out by the Landmark Conference on March 3 and landed two players on the 2008–09 all-Landmark first team.

Senior guard/forward Joel Patch, of Conklin, N.Y., was named the conference’s Player of the Year, while freshman guard and fan favorite Spenser Spencer, of Seattle, Wash., took home Rookie of the Year honors. To boot, junior guard Bryan Majors, of Harrisburg, Pa., earned the Defensive Player of the Year award, and head coach Frank Marcinek and his assistants Chad Bailey, Matthew Blue and Brent Ferko garnered Coaching Staff of the Year recognition.

Patch and Spencer also landed on the all-Landmark first team. Patch was one of 10 men’s finalists for the 2009 Jostens Trophy, awarded to the NCAA Division III Player of the Year. He led the Landmark and tied for 14th in Division III in rebounding, with 11.2 rebounds per game. He also ranked second in the conference in scoring (17.5 points per game) and fourth in blocked shots (27). Patch finished the 2008–09 season with 16 double-doubles, including four straight to end the campaign. He moved into the top 25 in Susquehanna men’s basketball history this past season in career points (1,067). This is the second all-conference honor for Patch, who was a second-team all–Middle Atlantic Commonwealth Conference player in 2006–07.

Spencer ranked sixth in the Landmark with 13.6 points per game and fourth with 56 three-pointers. He also ranked in the top 15 in the conference in assists (48) and steals (31). If he had enough attempts, his 84.2 free-throw percentage would have ranked second in the conference.

Majors led the Landmark in steals (67) while helping Susquehanna to a first-place conference ranking in field-goal-percentage defense (39.6). He was also a very productive offensive player this past season, leading the conference with 148 assists.

Marcinek and his staff led the 2008–09 SU team to a runner-up finish in both the Landmark regular season and the playoffs. The team was picked to finish third in the conference by a preseason poll of Landmark coaches and sports information directors. This is the second end-of-the-year coaching honor for Marcinek, who earned the MAC Commonwealth Coach of the Year award after the 2002–03 season.


Contributing writers to Scoreboard are Robert Edward Healy III, Cory Prescott ‘10 and Kelly Stemcosky ‘11.

Bookmark and Share