Recognizing a Banner Year

: President L. Jay Lemons holds up the Landmark Conference All-Sports President’s Cup during a half-time ceremony at the first home football game Sept. 11.

The outstanding athletics accomplishments of 2009–10 were recognized during a halftime ceremony at the first home football game Sept. 11. The past year saw teams, individuals and coaches earn an impressive array of accolades and championships.

Fittingly, the 2009 Liberty League championship football team was honored first. On hand to accept the championship trophy were many of the seniors from that 2009 squad, including All-American and Academic All-American Dave Paveletz ’10.

Next to be honored was men’s golf, the 2010 Empire 8 champions. Led by head coach Don Harnum, the team captured the conference title in its first season with the Empire 8. The win marked the 13th conference title in Harnum’s 21-year tenure.

Finally, the head coaches and student athletes from Susquehanna’s Landmark Conference teams received their due as they gathered on the football field to officially accept the Landmark’s All-Sports President’s Cup, an achievement that honors an institution for its regular-season conference standings as well as Landmark postseason play. Susquehanna President L. Jay Lemons and Director of Athletics Pam Samuelson accepted the trophy from commissioner John Reeves.

Contributing writers to the Scoreboard section are Katie Meier, director of athletics communications; Justin Lutes, assistant director of athletics communications.

Bookmark and Share