Title - 0 17159

Three Cheers for SU Service Organizations

March 6, 2008

SELINSGROVE (Pa.) – Susquehanna students, faculty and staff were recently honored for their commitment to community service. Susquehanna University Celebrating Helpful Experiences through Engaging Relationships in Service (SU CHEERS) is a program held every year on Feb. 20, which was declared Volunteer Recognition Day by former Susquehanna University president Joel L. Cunningham. As Eric Lassahn, director of residence life and volunteer programs at Susquehanna University noted, “Service is at the heart of the university experience.”

Outstanding Volunteer Awards were presented to students from 18 organizations “who have a great enthusiasm for and commitment to community service," said Brittany Bunting, facilitator of the awards.

The Dorothy M. Anderson Outstanding Project House of the Year Award, named in honor of the former dean of student life, a 1962 graduate who initiated the Project House System in 1975, was presented to Alpha Phi Omega service fraternity. The group averaged 20 hours of service per student per semester last year.

Senior Theodore Clark received the Lynn H. Askew Student Volunteer of the Year Award. Clark was recognized for his dedication to volunteer firefighting, his informational sessions with campus maintenance workers and his service to the Hurricane Relief Teams, Tau Kappa Epsilon, Inter-Fraternity Council and Step Up.

Jeffrey Mann, associate professor of religion, was honored with The Joel L. Cunningham Service-Learning Faculty Member of the Year Award for his work with the program he started in 2005, SU PLUS (Philippines: Learning, Understanding, Service).

Emily Bowling, coordinator of volunteer programs, received the Spirit of Service Award from the Corporation for National and Community Service for her work over the past two years with volunteer programs.

According to Bowling, Susquehanna students logged more than 20,000 service hours during the 2006-07 academic year. Nearly 9,000 hours have been logged to date for the current academic year.

Contact: Gerald Cohen


Bookmark and Share