TitleAbout - 0 23219

Holiday Schedule

General Business Hours

The university's offices will be open:                          

8:15 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.:  Monday, Aug. 11, 2014, until Friday, May 8, 2015                          

8 a.m. to 4 p.m.:  Monday, May 11, 2015, until Friday, Aug. 7, 2015  

Please note that these are general hours to indicate when the public can expect offices to be open during the academic year and the summer. This does not indicate individual work hours. For salaried staff, expectations are based on the work to be accomplished and a minimum 40-hour work week. For hourly staff, expectations are based on approved standard hours.  

Holiday Schedule

The following is a list of the holidays during the 2014-15 academic year in which the university is closed.  The holiday will extend from the closing hour of the preceding day to the opening hour of the following day:

Holiday University Designated Days
Thanksgiving Thursday, Nov. 27
Day after Thanksgiving   Friday, Nov. 28
Christmas Eve   Wednesday, Dec. 24
Christmas Day   Thursday, Dec. 25
New Year's Eve   Wednesday, Dec. 31
New Year's Day   Thursday, Jan. 1
Good Friday Friday, April 3
Memorial Day (Observed)   Monday, May 25
Independence Day (Observed)   Friday, July 3

All offices will be open on Labor Day, Monday, Sept. 1.  All staff may use this day as a floating holiday between July 1 and Dec. 31.  You must be employed on Labor Day to be eligible for the Labor Day floating holiday. This date is indicated in WebSU as “Labor Day Floating Holiday” under “Other Time Types”; if an employee is taking Labor Day off, he or she will need to indicate that day as the “Labor Day Floating Holiday.”  

Other Dates When the University Will Be Closed

Susquehanna University offices will be closed for a half day before Thanksgiving, Wednesday, Nov. 26.  

Most offices will be closed during Dec. 26, 29, 30 and Jan. 2. 

Please refer to the overtime policy on MySU for guidelines on overtime for hourly employees who are required to work on a holiday.

Other Religious Holidays

We recognize and respect the expression of various cultures and faiths practiced among our faculty and staff. Although the university does not close in observance of holidays other than those listed above, reasonable accommodations will be made for faculty and staff who wish to observe other religious holidays in which they and their families honor. An example of a reasonable accommodation would be to use accrued leave. When scheduling campus events, try to avoid conflicts with major religious holidays whenever possible. The following is a list of major holidays:

Holiday Date
Rosh Hashanah (Jewish)   Thursday - Friday, Sept. 25-26
Yom Kippur (Jewish)   Saturday, Oct. 4
Diwali (Hindu)   Thursday, Oct. 23
Muharram (Islam)   Saturday, Oct. 25
Hanukkah (Jewish)   Begins Tuesday evening, Dec. 16-24
Kwanzaa (African) Friday, Dec. 26 - Thursday, Jan. 1
Passover (Jewish) Friday, April 3
Ramadan (Muslim) Begins Thursday, June 18

Note that Jewish holidays begin at sundown the evening before (ex. Rosh Hashanah begins the evening of Sept. 24).



Susquehanna University Architecture

Bookmark and Share
close