Imhoof Named NCAA DIII FAR Fellow

Imhoof Named NCAA DIII FAR Fellow
Imhoof Named NCAA DIII FAR Fellow

July 14, 2016

David Imhoof, assistant professor of history at Susquehanna University, has been selected as a NCAA Division III Faculty Athletic Representative (FAR) Fellow.

Imhoof has been Susquehanna's NCAA Division III Faculty Athletic Representative since 2013 and recently served on the Nickname/Mascot Special Committee, which led the university's mascot selection process.

"I look forward to using my time at the FAR Institute to help better integrate athletes' experiences into the larger fabric of campus life," Imhoof said. "Susquehanna's unique requirement for all students to participate in a cross-cultural experience may allow me to bring some insight to other FARs, especially about athletes who study away."

As a FAR Fellow, Imhoof will work to increase the effectiveness of Division III FARs at the campus, conference and national levels. The 2016 Institute will be held at the NCAA national office in Indianapolis, Ind., in October.

FAR Fellows participate in a three-day professional development program, the components of which provide a thorough examination of best practices and issues surrounding the role and responsibility of the athletic representative. The program also helps fellows develop the leadership skills necessary to carry out their responsibilities on campus and in their conference.

At Susquehanna, Imhoof specializes in the connections between culture and politics in 20th Century Germany. He teaches courses on modern Europe, the Holocaust, Germany, and cultural history. Imhoof also helps to lead Susquehanna's nationally acclaimed Global Opportunities program, a requirement that all students study away from campus in a culture different from their own.

Imhoof joined Susquehanna's faculty in 2000, serving for nine years as chairman of the Department of History, and is the director of GO Austria. He earned his bachelor's degree from Trinity University, San Antonio, Texas, and his doctorate from the University of Texas at Austin.

What's Next?