TitleAbout - 0 9690

The 2014-2015 Raji-Syman Visiting Writers Series

All readings free and open to the public.Patricia Smith

Patricia Smith
Oct. 1, 2014 |  7:30 p.m.  |  Isaacs Auditorium  

Patricia Smith is a four-time winner of the National Poetry Slam.  Her collections of poems have been selected for the National Poetry Series, been a finalist for the National Book Award, and won the Lenore Marshall Poetry prize from the Academy of American Poets.  Her most recent collection Shoulda Been Jimi Savannah was a finalist for the William Carlos Williams Award.

Dan Beachy-QuickDan Beachy-Quick
Oct. 22, 2014  |  7:30 p.m.  |  Isaacs Auditorium

Dan Beachy-Quick has published five collections of poetry, one of which (Mulberry) was a finalist for the Los Angeles Times Book Award.  Honored by the Lannon Foundation, he has also published two books of essays and stories, most recently Wonderful Investigations.   

Nick FlynnNick Flynn

Nov. 10, 2014  |  7:30 p.m.  |  Isaacs Auditorium

Nick Flynn's memoir Another Bullshit Night in Suck City won the PEN/Martha Albrand Award for memoir; his first collection of poems Some Ether won the PEN/Joyce Osterwell Award.  His most recent book is a memoir about his decision to have a child, The Ticking is the Bomb.





Jeffrey Condran & Robert Peluso

March 15, 2015 | 7:o0 p.m. | Stretansky HallJeff Condran and Robert Peluso

Jeff and Robert are co-founders of the mid-list literary fiction press Braddock Avenue Books. Jeff is the author of the short story collection A Fingerprint Repeated and the novel Prague Summer. Robert has just completed a novel The Ride Out.


Melissa BankMelissa Bank
March 16, 2015   |  4:30 p.m.  |  Isaacs Auditorium

Melissa Bank is the bestselling nonfiction and fiction author of The Girls’ Guide to Hunting and Fishing and The Wonder Spot. The 2008 film Suburban Girl was adapted from Girls’ Guide and starred Alec Baldwin and Sarah Michelle Geller.

Cary HolladayCary Holladay
March 30, 2015  |  7:30 p.m.  |  Isaacs Auditorium 

Cary Holladay is the author of seven volumes of fiction, most recently Horse People and The Deer in the Mirror, which won the Ohio State University prize in Short Fiction.  Winner of an O’Henry Prize for Short Fiction, Cary is a graduate of Selinsgrove High School.

Shaye AreheartShaye Areheart

April 20, 2015  |  7:30 p.m.  |  Isaacs Auditorium

Shaye Areheart is a former editor at Random House and the publisher of Shaye Areheart Books. She is currently the Director of the graduate program, Columbia Publishing Course.

Past Visiting Writers have included:

  • Lee K. Abbott 
  • Mary Jo Bang                     
  • Rick Bass
  • Richard Bausch
  • Elizabeth Beier (editor)
  • Madison Smartt Bell
  • Eula Biss
  • Eavan Boland
  • Robert Boswell 
  • David Bradley
  • Fleda Brown
  • Frederick Busch 
  • Bonnie Jo Campbell 
  • Rafael Campo
  • Lorene Cary
  • Joy Castro
  • Dan Chaon
  • Judith Ortiz Cofer
  • Billy Collins
  • Bernard Cooper
  • Robert Cording
  • Robert Creeley
  • Fred D'Aguiar
  • Charles D’Ambrosio
  • Lydia Davis
  • Andre Dubus III
  • Stephen Dunn
  • Lynn Emanuel
  • Danielle Evans
  • Carolyn Forché
  • Tom Franklin
  • James Galvin
  • Cristina Garcia
  • Dagoberto Gilb
  • Louise Glück
  • Ron Hansen
  • Joy Harjo
  • James Harms
  • Colin Harrison
  • Larry Heinemann
  • Brian Hanry
  • Edward Hirsch
  • Tony Hoagland
  • Ha Jin
  • Rodney Jones
  • Mary Karr
  • Jill McCorkle
  • James Alan McPherson
  • Sue Miller
  • Antonya Nelson
  • Sharon Olds
  • Stewart O'Nan
  • Ann Pancake
  • Salvatore Pane '07
  • Katie Peirce '00
  • Jennifer Perrine '00 
  • Tom Perrotta
  • Jayne Anne Phillips
  • Kevin Pilkington
  • Andrew Porter
  • Lia Purpura
  • Claudia Rankine 
  • Nick Ripatrazone '03
  • Richard Rodriguez
  • Esmeralda Santiago
  • George Saunders
  • Zach Savich
  • Bob Shacochis
  • Enid Shomer
  • Rachel Simon
  • Lauren Slater
  • Art Spiegelman
  • Gerald Stern
  • Alison Stine
  • Jay Varner ’03 
  • John Vernon
  • G.C. Waldrep
  • Claire Vaye Watkins
  • Nancy Willard
  • Tobias Wolff 
  • Steve Yarbrough

Bookmark and Share