Main Navigation
Skip To Content
Home
Search
Academics
Outcomes
Admission & Aid
Discover Susquehanna
Campus Life
Division of Student Life
About SU
Support Susquehanna

Real-life accounting experience for business majors

Adding a minor in professional accounting to your business major is a great way to make yourself more valuable to any employer and open up new career options.

A minor in professional accounting from Susquehanna can give you the skills, hands-on experience and knowledge to excel in whatever industry you'd like. We've been extremely successful in preparing public accountants and give them every opportunity to apply their trade.

At Susquehanna you'll learn from business leaders, and get on track to become one yourself.



All businesses need bright and enterprising employees who understand accounting concepts.

Our professional accounting minor can get you there. It gives you the flexibility to choose another major within the Sigmund Weis School of Business, including finance or marketing, and still sit for the CPA exam.

In addition to reading balance sheets and income statements, you'll be more prepared to cash in on life after graduation because you'll:

  • Learn federal tax code
  • Study auditing with former government professionals
  • Have a foundation in business classes beyond accounting
  • Travel and experience different cultures and business norms
  • Work in teams on case studies and make presentations to industry leaders
  • Know what it takes to join a public accounting firm

This minor is a wise investment in your future—giving you the career flexibility and depth of knowledge to succeed in businesses of all sizes, international nonprofits and government.

Minor in Professional Accounting. The minor in professional accounting is designed for those students who are pursuing a major within the Sigmund Weis School of Business and who would like to achieve a greater level of knowledge of professional accounting. The minor requires completion of 20 semester hours, including ACCT-220 Introduction to Taxation, ACCT-301 Intermediate Accounting I, ACCT-302 Intermediate Accounting II, ACCT-305 Federal Taxation, ACCT-420 Auditing and ACCT-430 Managerial Accounting Policy. The program is not available to students outside the Sigmund Weis School of Business.

Jerry Habegger, Ph.D.

Department: Accounting
Associate Professor of Accounting

Emailhabegger@susqu.edu
Phone570-372-4461

Barbara June McElroy, Ph.D.

Department: Accounting
Professor of Accounting

Emailmcelroyb@susqu.edu
Phone570-372-4242

Rick Davis, M.Tax/J.D.

Department: Accounting
Professor of Accounting

Emailrdavis@susqu.edu
Phone570-372-4460

John A. Pendley, Ph.D.

Department: Accounting
Associate Professor of Accounting

Emailpendley@susqu.edu
Phone570-372-4533

Bo Liu

Department: Accounting
Assistant Professor of Accounting

Emailliub@susqu.edu
Phone570-372-4307

Michael E. Ozlanski, Ph.D.

Department: Accounting
Assistant Professor of Accounting

Emailozlanski@susqu.edu
Phone570-372-4516

Dana Zhang

Department: Accounting
Assistant Professor of Accounting

Emailzhangd@susqu.edu
Phone570-372-4513

Barbara Martin

Department: Accounting
Lecturer Accounting

Emailmartinb@susqu.edu
Phone570-372-4436

John Robinson

Department: Accounting
Adjunct Faculty in Accounting

Emailrobinsonj@susqu.edu
Phone570-372-4456

Contact Us

Department of Accounting

514 University Ave.
Selinsgrove, Pa. 17870

Get Directions

Location

Apfelbaum Hall

Campus Map

Phone & Email

Jerry Habegger, department head
570-372-4461
habegger@susqu.edu

What's Next?

You came here to talk about
  • {{$first ? '' : $last ? ' & ' : ' '}}{{cat.name | lowercase}}
 
Select your interests below