Welcome to the Department of Art and Design

As an art major at Susquehanna University, you'll earn more than just an undergraduate degree. You'll gain lifelong advantages that you won't find at other colleges. Our design program is one of the top 5 in the state, according to Zippia.

For starters, classes are small and the facilities are top-notch. You'll learn to express yourself in many ways—and not just visually. Our department is designed for those who are serious about art and design. 

BFA in Graphic Design

Our award-winning graphic design program now offers a BFA, incorporating traditional print and interactive design to prepare you to work in this creative and fast-paced field.

You’ll graduate with in demand skills such as editorial and publication design, UX/UI design and brand development — as well as the industry knowledge that employers seek.

Ninety-eight percent of our alumni are working design professionals at companies like Under Armor, Bombas NYC, RollingStone, Sony Music, The New York Times and Lego North America.

Art site

Created by artists for artists

Visit the Department of Art and Design's special site to learn more about our program.

Girl hanging painting
Girl with painting

A Susquehanna education provides students with flexibility in coursework so they can conduct research, intern and study abroad. When it comes to your major, you’ll begin taking classes in your chosen program of study in your first year.  

Here are some of the courses that graphic design majors take in their first few semesters at Susquehanna. 

  • Foundations of Art I 
  • Computer Applications in Graphic Design 
  • Visual Communication 
  • Typography 

Download the current course catalog on this page to see the full list of classes and course descriptions for Susquehanna’s majors.  

Mark Fertig, M.F.A.

Department: Art
Professor of Art & Design

Email Address fertig@susqu.edu
Phone Number 570-372-4623

Ann Piper, M.F.A.

Department: Art
Associate Professor of Art & Design

piper@susqu.edu
570-372-4581

Izabel Galliera

Department: Art
Assistant Professor of Art History

Email Address galliera@susqu.edu
Phone Number 570-372-4721

Amanda Lenig, M.F.A.

Department: Art
Assistant Professor of Art & Design

leniga@susqu.edu
570-372-4622

Lori Kershner

Department: Art
Adjunct Faculty in Art & Design

Email Address kershnerl@susqu.edu
Phone Number 570-372-4281

Steven Leason

Department: Art
Adjunct Faculty in Art & Design

leason@susqu.edu
570-372-4281

Christine Swisher

Department: Art
Adjunct Faculty in Art & Design

Email Address swisherc@susqu.edu
Phone Number 570-372-4384

Gordon R. Wenzel

Department: Art
Adjunct Faculty in Photography

wenzelg@susqu.edu
570-372-4624

Juliann E Boggs

Department: Provost
Academic Assistant

Email Address boggsj@susqu.edu
Phone Number 570-372-4281

Contact Us

Department of Art

514 University Ave.
Selinsgrove, Pa. 17870

Get Directions

Location

Cunningham Center for Music and Art

Campus Map

Phone & Email

Mark Fertig, department head
570-372-4623
fertig@susqu.edu

What's Next?