Perfect blend of practice and theory

Sports is a multi-billion dollar industry. Get the training and insight to work everywhere from professional beats to the front offices of teams followed by millions.

Learn the practical elements of being a broadcaster or journalist in an ever-growing market and the history of sports to understand the context of what you'll be covering.

Discuss the contribution of Jackie Robinson and how sports and race have become intertwined in our society. Look at the gender gap and monumental moments that have helped close it. Debate current events and how they're covered by social and traditional media.

Broaden your knowledge of the world around you and better understand important topics with one of our interdisciplinary minors, like film studies or africana studies.

Real-world experience

Pick up a camera, get behind a microphone or take statistics during collegiate games. Work closely with the Sports Information Department and help with game management, promotion and coverage.

Our students have interned with Minor League Baseball teams, the Little League Hall of Fame and World Series, and at the Olympics.

After graduation, you'll have choices of employment from sports reporter to the front office of professional teams to college athletics sports information.

Communication graduates have recently found jobs with the following companies:

  • ABC 27 WHTM
  • Citigroup
  • Comcast
  • Fox 29 WTXF-TV
  • Hollywood Media Corporation
  • MediaPower
  • National Geographic Society
  • QVC
  • Rockstar San Diego
  • Sapient Nitro
  • Six Flags America
  • Swarovski
  • Tiffany & Co.

Recent graduates have continued their studies at:

  • University of Pennsylvania
  • Boston University
  • Colorado State University
  • University of Denver
  • University of West Florida
  • Pennsylvania State University
  • Duke University
Craig A. Stark, Ph.D.

Department: Communications
Associate Professor of Communications

Email Address stark@susqu.edu
Phone Number 570-372-4358

Kate Hastings, Ph.D.

Department: Communications
Associate Professor of Communications

hastings@susqu.edu
570-372-4359

David C. Kaszuba, Ph.D.

Department: Communications
Associate Professor of Communications

Email Address kaszuba@susqu.edu
Phone Number 570-372-4724

Michele Welliver

Department: Communications
Assistant Professor of Communications

welliver@susqu.edu
570-372-4306

Debrah D. Baxter

Department: Communications
Adjunct Faculty in Communications

Email Address baxterdebrah@susqu.edu

Dawn Benfer

Department: Communications
WQSU General Manager

slonaker-benfer@susqu.edu
570-372-4030

Karen DeFrancesco

Department: Communications
Adjunct Faculty in Communications

Email Address defrancescok@susqu.edu
Phone Number 570-372-4742

Gary Heller

Department: Communications
Adjunct Faculty in Communications

heller@susqu.edu
570-372-4418

Chad Hershberger

Department: Communications
Adjunct Faculty in Communications

Email Address hershberger@susqu.edu
Phone Number 570-372-4423

Michael Rash

Department: English & Creative Writing
Adjunct Faculty in English and Creative Writing

rash@susqu.edu
570-372-4657

Samuel Sauls

Department: Communications
Adjunct Faculty in Communications

Email Address saulss@susqu.edu
Phone Number 570-372-4079

William Swanger

Department: Communications
Adjunct Faculty in Communications

swangerw@susqu.edu
570-372-4353

Linda Burkley

Department: Communications
Lecturer Communications

Email Address burkley@susqu.edu
Phone Number 570-372-4094

John Foltz

Department: Communications
Lecturer Communications

foltz@susqu.edu
570-372-4638

Check out all your options! View the academic catalog.

The academic catalog is the compilation of all the amazing classes and programs being offered at Susquehanna during a given academic year.  For more information about the courses being offered, programs available, and much more, download the catalog and dig in.

See the 2020-2021 Academic Catalog
Student sitting at a desk with a notepad

Contact Us

Department of Communications

514 University Ave.
Selinsgrove, Pa. 17870

Get Directions

Location

Apfelbaum Hall

Campus Map

Phone & Email

Craig Stark, department head
570-372-4358
stark@susqu.edu

FacebookTwitterInstagramYouTube

What's Next?