Would you like to attend a reading but aren't able to get to Susquehanna?

Feel free to "attend" participating readings and launches from your own home by watching on Facebook Live! We will livestream several readings throughout the academic year on our Facebook page.

Participating readings will be notated in their description.

Faculty Reading

Hasanthika Sirisena, Monica Prince, and Elise Burke

Sept. 11 | 7:30 p.m. | Isaacs Auditorium, Seibert Hall

Hasanthika Sirisena is the author of the prize-winning short story collection The Other One. Monica Prince writes poetry, choreopoems and essays. Her chapbook, Letters from the Other Woman (Grey Book Press, 2018), works through infidelity, depression and remorse. Elise Burke's fiction has been accepted by or published in the Indiana Review, Hayden's Ferry Review, Gulf Coast, The Gettysburg Review, Joyland, Heavy Feather Review and others. She is fiction editor at Flock Literary Journal.

Brenda Hillman

Brenda Hillman

Sept. 24 | 7:30 p.m. | Weber Chapel Auditorium

Watch the livestream

Brenda Hillman is the author of 10 collections of poetry, including her most recent, Extra Hidden Life, among the Days. In 2016 she was named Academy of American Poets Chancellor. Hillman's other awards include the 2012 Academy of American Poets Fellowship, the 2005 William Carlos Williams Prize for poetry, and fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts and the Guggenheim Foundation. Hillman is the Olivia C. Filippi professor of poetry at St. Mary's College.

Kim Van Alkemade

Kim van Alkemade

Oct. 9 | 7:30 p.m. | Isaacs Auditorium, Seibert Hall

Watch the livestream

Kim van Alkemade has written two historical fiction novels, Orphan #8 (William Morrow, 2015) and Bachelor Girl (Touchstone, 2018). Her creative nonfiction essays have appeared in literary journals, including Alaska Quarterly Review, CutBank and So to Speak. She earned her M.A. and Ph.D. in English at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee. A professor in the English department at Shippensburg University, she teaches writing.

Martin Espada

Martín Espada

Nov. 1 | 7:30 p.m. | Degenstein Center Theater

Watch the livestream

Martín Espada has published nearly 20 books as a poet, editor, essayist and translator. His latest collection of poems is Vivas to Those Who Have Failed (Norton, 2016). His many honors include the 2018 Ruth Lilly Poetry Prize, the Shelley Memorial Award, the Robert Creeley Award, the National Hispanic Cultural Center Literary Award, an American Book Award, the PEN/Revson Fellowship and a Guggenheim Fellowship. Espada is a professor of English at the University of Massachusetts-Amherst. Photo credit: David González

Elena Passarello

Elena Passarello

Feb. 5 | 7:30 p.m. | Weber Chapel Auditorium 

Watch the livestream

Elena Passarello is the author of two collections of essays, Let Me Clear My Throat and Animals Strike Curious Poses, both with Sarabande Books. Animals Strike was named a Notable Book of 2017 by The New York Times, Publishers Weekly and The Guardian, and has been reprinted in Germany, Italy and China. The recipient of a 2015 Whiting Award in Nonfiction, she teaches in the Master of Fine Arts program at Oregon State University.

Aminatta Forna

Aminatta Forna

March 5 | 7:30 p.m. | Weber Chapel Auditorium

Forna is the award-winning author of the three novels The Hired Man, The Memory of Love and Ancestor Stones, and the critically acclaimed memoir The Devil that Danced on the Water. Her fiction has won the Commonwealth Writers' Prize Best Book Award and the PEN Hurston/Wright Legacy Award; has been short-listed for the Neustadt Prize, the Orange Prize for Fiction, the IMPAC Award and the Warwick Prize; and nominated for the European Prize for Fiction. Her memoir was seri-alized on BBC Radio and in The Sunday Times newspaper. Forna is currently a Lannan visiting chair at Georgetown University in Washington, D.C.

Monica Prince

Roadmap: A Choreopoem

By Monica Prince

April 13,  7:30 p.m. | April 14, 2 p.m.  
Isaacs Auditorium, Seibert Hall

This choreopoem by a Susquehanna creative writing faculty member places multiple storylines in the life of a man of color whose family history dictates his future. It uses poetry, dance, music and live art to address historical trauma, toxic masculinity and resilience. Produced in cooperation with the Department of English and Creative Writing.

Anjali Singh

Anjali Singh

April 16 | 7:30 p.m. | Stretansky Concert Hall

Watch the livestream

Anjali Singh is a literary agent at Ayesha Pande Literary. She got her start in publishing in 1996 as a literary scout. Most recently editorial director at Other Press, she has also worked as an editor at Simon & Schuster, Houghton Mifflin Harcourt and Vintage Books. She championed Marjane Satrapi's Persepolis after stumbling across it on a visit to Paris. Drawn to the thrill of discovering new writers, Singh helped launch the careers of literary novelists Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, Samantha Hunt, Preeta Samarasan and others. She is a member of the International Committee of the Brooklyn Book Festival.

We will livestream all of our student readings and launches on our Facebook page!

Senior Readings

All readings are at 7 p.m. in the Lore Degenstein Art Gallery.

Oct. 24, 2018
Nov. 13, 2018
Nov. 27, 2018
Feb. 19, 2019
Feb. 27, 2019
April 24, 2019

Publications Launch

Essay, Susquehanna Review and RiverCraft Launch with special guest Anjali Singh
7:30 p.m. | April 16 | Stretansky Hall, Cunningham Center for Music and Art

Lee K. Abbott
Kazim Ali
Shaye Areheart (Editor/Publisher)
Mary Jo Bang
Melissa Bank
Rick Bass
Richard Bausch
Dan Beachy-Quick
Elizabeth Beier (Editor)
Madison Smartt Bell
Eula Biss
Eavan Boland
Robert Boswell
David Bradley
Frederick Busch
Marcus Burke '11
Bonnie Jo Campbell
Rafael Campo
Lorene Cary
Joy Castro
Dan Chaon
Judith Ortiz Cofer
Billy Collins
Jeffrey Condran (Author/Publisher)
Bernard Cooper
Robert Cording
Robert Creeley
Fred D'Aguiar
Charles D'Ambrosio
Edwidge Danticat
Lydia Davis
Natalie Diaz
Andre Dubus III
Stephen Dunn
Lynn Emanuel
Danielle Evans
Nick Flynn
Carolyn Forché
Aminatta Forna
Tom Franklin
James Galvin
Cristina Garcia
Dagoberto Gilb
Louise Glück
Melissa Goodrich '11
Ron Hansen
Joy Harjo
James Harms
Colin Harrison

Edward Hirsch
Tony Hoagland
Ishion Hutchinson
Ha Jin
Rodney Jones
Mary Karr
Sayed Kashua
Jill McCorkle
James Alan McPherson
Sue Miller
Honor Moore
Antonya Nelson
Sharon Olds
Stewart O'Nan
Derek Palacio
Ann Pancake
Salvatore Pane '07
Katie Peirce '00
Jennifer Perrine '00
Robert Peluso (Author/Publisher)
Tom Perrotta
Jayne Anne Phillips
Andrew Porter
Lia Purpura
Claudia Rankine
Nick Ripatrazone '03
Diane Roberts
Richard Rodriguez
Esmeralda Santiago
George Saunders
Zach Savich
Joseph Scapellato
Bob Shacochis
Enid Shomer
Rachel Simon
Lauren Slater
Patricia Smith
Art Spiegelman
Gerald Stern
Alison Stine
Jay Varner '03
John Vernon
G.C. Waldrep
Claire Vaye Watkins
Nancy Willard
Sally Wofford-Girand
Tobias Wolff
Matvei Yakelevich
Steve Yarbrough