The major that goes with anything

If music is your passion, there's no place like Susquehanna. Enjoy small-school advantages and big-school opportunities at one of the best liberal arts music programs in the country.

We encourage you to double major. It gives you a unique educational experience and invaluable flexibility when it comes to your career.

Our arts administration minor is a perfect addition, preparing you for the business side of music. Or choose from any of our more than 100 majors and minors.

Pair your music B.A. with psychology and pursue music therapy in graduate school. Love science as well as the arts? Major in biology and music! Want to go into the marketing or administrative side of music? Add a business or communications major.

Grow as a musician, performer and thinker

You'll get one-on-one mentoring from teachers who are experienced educators and active performers. We're an undergraduate-only program so you won't compete with graduate students for performance opportunities.

Enjoy bright, airy rehearsal and performance facilities-even our practice rooms have windows! Our magnificent Stretansky Concert Hall is an ideal performance space for acoustic music.

Be ready for anything

Gain skills that cross all disciplines.

You'll know how to work in large and small groups from being part of performance ensembles. You'll hone leadership skills through conducting and teaching. You'll know how to look at a subject extensively through various lenses—theoretical, historical, emotional and cultural.

You'll be more than ready to continue your music studies at graduate schools like Peabody Institute of Music, New England Conservatory of Music or Yale University—or venture into a field related to your second major.

Our graduates have become teachers, joined symphonies and become administrators at major performance venues.

Graduates have gone on to graduate school at:

University of Florida
University of Southern Maine
Stony Brook University
University of North Texas
Boston University
Cincinnati Conservatory of Music
Drexel University
Eastman School of Music
Indiana University
University of Michigan
New England Conservatory of Music
Northwestern University
Peabody Institute of Music
Pennsylvania State University
Temple University
Yale University

Graduates have gone on to jobs at:

Milton Area High School
Temple University
Widener University
Atonement Lutheran Church
Staats Operette Dresden
University of North Texas College of Music
South Shore Symphony Orchestra
Pinellas Youth Symphony
University of Connecticut
Loyalsock Township School District
Stone Hill Middle School
Jumoke Academy Charter Schools
Wolf Trap Foundation for the Performing Arts
Utah Opera

Brass

Eric L. Hinton

Department: Music
Areas of Specialty:
Director of Bands
Trumpet
Conducting

hinton@susqu.edu
570-372-4296

Kevin Henry

Department: Music
Areas of Specialty:
Trombone

henryk@susqu.edu
570-372-4281

Aaron Himes

Department: Music
Areas of Specialty:
Tuba
Euphonium

himes@susqu.edu

Christiana Smith

Department: Music
Areas of Specialty:
Horn

smithchristi@susqu.edu

Composition

Patrick A. Long, DMA

Department: Music
Areas of Specialty:
Theory & Composition
Music Technology

longp@susqu.edu
570-372-4289

Joshua Davis

Department: Music
Areas of Specialty:
Bass
Theory & Composition
Jazz Band

davisj@susqu.edu
570-372-4286

Conducting

Eric L. Hinton

Department: Music
Areas of Specialty:
Director of Bands
Trumpet
Conducting

hinton@susqu.edu
570-372-4296

Amy Voorhees

Department: Music
Areas of Specialty:
Director of Choral Activities
Conducting
Music Education

voorhees@susqu.edu
570-372-4295

Jordan Randall Smith

Department: Music
Areas of Specialty:
Orchestra
Conducting
Music Education

smithjr@susqu.edu
570-372-4287

Ensembles

Joshua Davis

Department: Music
Areas of Specialty:
Bass
Theory & Composition
Jazz Band

davisj@susqu.edu
570-372-4286

Eric L. Hinton

Department: Music
Areas of Specialty:
Director of Bands
Trumpet
Conducting

hinton@susqu.edu
570-372-4296

David Steinau

Department: Music
Areas of Specialty:
Music Department Chair
Voice

steinau@susqu.edu
570-372-4285

Amy Voorhees

Department: Music
Areas of Specialty:
Director of Choral Activities
Conducting
Music Education

voorhees@susqu.edu
570-372-4295

Jordan Randall Smith

Department: Music
Areas of Specialty:
Orchestra
Conducting
Music Education

smithjr@susqu.edu
570-372-4287

Keyboard

Marcos Krieger, DMA

Department: Music
Areas of Specialty:
Organ & Harpsicord
Music History
Ear Training

kriegerm@susqu.edu
570-372-4292

Naomi Niskala

Department: Music
Areas of Specialty:
Piano
Music Theory

niskala@susqu.edu
570-372-4152

Jaime Namminga

Department: Music
Areas of Specialty:
Collaborative Piano
Ear Training

namminga@susqu.edu
570-372-4781

Vic Boris

Department: Music
Areas of Specialty:
Music History
Piano

boris@susqu.edu
570-372-4281

Diane Scott

Department: Music
Areas of Specialty:
Class Piano

scottd@susqu.edu
570-372-4291

Music Education

Patrick A. Long, DMA

Department: Music
Areas of Specialty:
Theory & Composition
Music Technology

longp@susqu.edu
570-372-4289

Adrienne Rodriguez

Department: Music
Areas of Specialty:
Coordinator of Music Education

rodrigueza@susqu.edu
570-372-4536

Eric L. Hinton

Department: Music
Areas of Specialty:
Director of Bands
Trumpet
Conducting

hinton@susqu.edu
570-372-4296

Gail B. Levinsky

Department: Music
Areas of Specialty:
Saxophone
Music Education

gblevinsky@susqu.edu
570-372-4266

Amy Voorhees

Department: Music
Areas of Specialty:
Director of Choral Activities
Conducting
Music Education

voorhees@susqu.edu
570-372-4295

Jordan Randall Smith

Department: Music
Areas of Specialty:
Orchestra
Conducting
Music Education

smithjr@susqu.edu
570-372-4287

Nelson Rodriguez-Parada

Department: Music
Areas of Specialty:
Bass
Music Education

rodriguezparada@susqu.edu
570-372-4281

Music History

Joshua Davis

Department: Music
Areas of Specialty:
Bass
Theory & Composition
Jazz Band

davisj@susqu.edu
570-372-4286

Marcos Krieger, DMA

Department: Music
Areas of Specialty:
Organ & Harpsicord
Music History
Ear Training

kriegerm@susqu.edu
570-372-4292

Gary Boerckel

Department: Music
Areas of Specialty:
Music History

boerckel@susqu.edu
570-372-4281

Vic Boris

Department: Music
Areas of Specialty:
Music History
Piano

boris@susqu.edu
570-372-4281

Music Technology

Patrick A. Long, DMA

Department: Music
Areas of Specialty:
Theory & Composition
Music Technology

longp@susqu.edu
570-372-4289

Music Theory & Ear Training

Patrick A. Long, DMA

Department: Music
Areas of Specialty:
Theory & Composition
Music Technology

longp@susqu.edu
570-372-4289

Marcos Krieger, DMA

Department: Music
Areas of Specialty:
Organ & Harpsicord
Music History
Ear Training

kriegerm@susqu.edu
570-372-4292

Naomi Niskala

Department: Music
Areas of Specialty:
Piano
Music Theory

niskala@susqu.edu
570-372-4152

Jaime Namminga

Department: Music
Areas of Specialty:
Collaborative Piano
Ear Training

namminga@susqu.edu
570-372-4781

Brett Hosterman

Department: Music
Areas of Specialty:
Ear Training

hosterman@susqu.edu

Percussion

Greg Alico

Department: Music
Areas of Specialty:
Percussion

alico@susqu.edu
570-372-4281

Strings

Joshua Davis

Department: Music
Areas of Specialty:
Bass
Theory & Composition
Jazz Band

davisj@susqu.edu
570-372-4286

Jennifer Sacher Wiley

Department: Music
Areas of Specialty:
Violin

jswiley@susqu.edu
570-372-4290

Jaime Namminga

Department: Music
Areas of Specialty:
Collaborative Piano
Ear Training

namminga@susqu.edu
570-372-4781

Ruth Hunter

Department: Music
Areas of Specialty:
Harp

hunterruth@susqu.edu
570-372-4281

Andrew Rammon

Department: Music
Areas of Specialty:
Cello

rammon@susqu.edu
570-372-4281

Marcus Smolensky

Department: Music
Areas of Specialty:
Viola
Music History

smolensky@susqu.edu
570-372-4281

Nelson Rodriguez-Parada

Department: Music
Areas of Specialty:
Bass
Music Education

rodriguezparada@susqu.edu
570-372-4281

Voice

David Steinau

Department: Music
Areas of Specialty:
Music Department Chair
Voice

steinau@susqu.edu
570-372-4285

Amanda Russo Stante

Department: Music
Areas of Specialty:
Voice

stante@susqu.edu

Jeffrey Fahnestock

Department: Music
Areas of Specialty:
Voice

fahnesto@susqu.edu
570-372-4773

Judith White

Department: Music
Areas of Specialty:
Voice

jwhite@susqu.edu
570-372-4782

Amy Caron

Department: Music
Areas of Specialty:
Voice

caron@susqu.edu

Woodwinds

Gail B. Levinsky

Department: Music
Areas of Specialty:
Saxophone
Music Education

gblevinsky@susqu.edu
570-372-4266

Megan Carraher

Department: Music
Areas of Specialty:
Oboe

carraher@susqu.edu
570-372-4281

Leslie Cullen

Department: Music
Areas of Specialty:
Flute

cullenleslie@susqu.edu
570-372-4281

Colleen Hartung

Department: Music
Areas of Specialty:
Clarinet

hartung@susqu.edu
570-372-4281

Patrick Quinn

Department: Music
Areas of Specialty:
Woodwinds

quinnp@susqu.edu

Staff

Sara Adams

Department: Music
Areas of Specialty:

adamss@susqu.edu
570-372-4309

Juliann E Boggs

Department: Provost
Areas of Specialty:

boggsj@susqu.edu
570-372-4281

Check out all your options! View the academic catalog.

The academic catalog is the compilation of all the amazing classes and programs being offered at Susquehanna during a given academic year.  For more information about the courses being offered, programs available, and much more, download the catalog and dig in.

See the 2020-2021 Academic Catalog
Student sitting at a desk with a notepad
Skip Block Navigation

Performance Opportunities

Choral

Choral ensembles provide students with unique musical experiences on and off campus.

Instrumental

The Orchestra, Wind Ensemble and Symphonic Band perform a wide repertoire in a challenging and rewarding environment.

Keyboard

Pianists and organists perform in a range of solo, chamber, and large ensemble settings on the finest instruments.

Jazz

A traditional big band and small combos appear at a variety of venues.

Chamber Music

Small ensembles offer opportunities to study highly specialized literature.

Opera

The Opera Studio performs fully-staged productions with orchestra in addition to programs of opera scenes.

2

theaters with orchestra pits

2

percussion rooms

320

seats in Stretansky Concert Hall

Music Preparatory Program for Children and Adults

The program provides the surrounding communities with lifelong learning opportunities for professional music study and enrichment activities in an academic environment, including individual lessons in voice, piano, organ, and most band and orchestra instruments, along with group music classes for infants through adults.

The hallmark of the program is the rich collaboration among music faculty, music students, and the children and adults who take lessons and classes.

Read More
Music Prep

Contact Us

Department of Music

514 University Ave.
Selinsgrove, Pa. 17870

Get Directions

Location

Cunningham Center for Music and Art

Campus Map

Phone & Email

570-372-4281
Admissions and auditions: adamss@susqu.edu
General information: boggsj@susqu.edu

What's Next?