The major that goes with anything

If music is your passion, there’s no place like Susquehanna. Enjoy small-school advantages and big-school opportunities at one of the best liberal arts music programs in the country.

We encourage you to double major. It gives you a unique educational experience and invaluable flexibility when it comes to your career.

Our arts administration minor is a perfect addition, preparing you for the business side of music. Or choose from any of our more than 100 majors and minors.

Pair your music B.A. with psychology and pursue music therapy in graduate school. Love science as well as the arts? Major in biology and music! Want to go into the marketing or administrative side of music? Add a business or communications major.

Grow as a musician, performer and thinker

You’ll get one-on-one mentoring from teachers who are experienced educators and active performers. We’re an undergraduate-only program so you won’t compete with graduate students for performance opportunities.

Enjoy bright, airy rehearsal and performance facilities-even our practice rooms have windows! Our magnificent Stretansky Concert Hall is an ideal performance space for acoustic music.

Be ready for anything

Gain skills that cross all disciplines.

You’ll know how to work in large and small groups from being part of performance ensembles. You’ll hone leadership skills through conducting and teaching. You’ll know how to look at a subject extensively through various lenses—theoretical, historical, emotional and cultural.

You’ll be more than ready to continue your music studies at graduate schools like Peabody Institute of Music, New England Conservatory of Music or Yale University—or venture into a field related to your second major.

Our graduates have become teachers, joined symphonies and become administrators at major performance venues.

Our Faculty

Brass

Kevin Henry

Adjunct Faculty in Music

Email Address henryk@susqu.edu
Phone Number 570-372-4281

Eric Hinton

Associate Professor of Music

Email Address hinton@susqu.edu
Phone Number 570-372-4296

Composition

Patrick Long

Professor of Music

Email Address longp@susqu.edu
Phone Number 570-372-4289

Conducting

Eric Hinton

Associate Professor of Music

Email Address hinton@susqu.edu
Phone Number 570-372-4296

Amy Voorhees

Assistant Professor of Music

Email Address voorhees@susqu.edu
Phone Number 570-372-4295

Jordan Smith

Visiting Assistant Professor Music

Email Address smithjr@susqu.edu
Phone Number 570-372-4287

Ensembles

Eric Hinton

Associate Professor of Music

Email Address hinton@susqu.edu
Phone Number 570-372-4296

Jordan Smith

Visiting Assistant Professor Music

Email Address smithjr@susqu.edu
Phone Number 570-372-4287

Amy Voorhees

Assistant Professor of Music

Email Address voorhees@susqu.edu
Phone Number 570-372-4295

Gail Levinsky

Professor of Music

Email Address gblevinsky@susqu.edu
Phone Number 570-372-4266

David Steinau

Associate Professor of Music

Email Address steinau@susqu.edu
Phone Number 570-372-4285

Keyboard

Marcos Krieger

Associate Professor of Music

Email Address kriegerm@susqu.edu
Phone Number 570-372-4292

Naomi Niskala

Associate Professor of Music

Email Address niskala@susqu.edu
Phone Number 570-372-4152

Jaime Namminga

Assistant Professor of Music

Email Address namminga@susqu.edu
Phone Number 570-372-4781

Diane Scott

Adjunct Faculty in Music

Email Address scottd@susqu.edu
Phone Number 570-372-4291

Music Education

Eric Hinton

Associate Professor of Music

Email Address hinton@susqu.edu
Phone Number 570-372-4296

Gail Levinsky

Professor of Music

Email Address gblevinsky@susqu.edu
Phone Number 570-372-4266

Nelson Rodriguez-Parada

Adjunct Faculty in Music

Email Address rodriguezparada@susqu.edu
Phone Number 570-372-4281

Amy Voorhees

Assistant Professor of Music

Email Address voorhees@susqu.edu
Phone Number 570-372-4295

Brett Hosterman

Adjunct Faculty in Music

Email Address hosterman@susqu.edu
Phone Number 570-372-4281

Adrienne Rodriguez

Assistant Professor of Music

Email Address rodrigueza@susqu.edu
Phone Number 570-372-4536

Jordan Smith

Visiting Assistant Professor Music

Email Address smithjr@susqu.edu
Phone Number 570-372-4287

Music History

Gary Boerckel

Adjunct Faculty in Music

Email Address boerckel@susqu.edu
Phone Number 570-372-4281

Jennifer Wiley

Associate Professor of Music

Email Address jswiley@susqu.edu
Phone Number 570-372-4290

Marcos Krieger

Associate Professor of Music

Email Address kriegerm@susqu.edu
Phone Number 570-372-4292

Music Technology

Patrick Long

Professor of Music

Email Address longp@susqu.edu
Phone Number 570-372-4289

Music Theory & Ear Training

Brett Hosterman

Adjunct Faculty in Music

Email Address hosterman@susqu.edu
Phone Number 570-372-4281

Jaime Namminga

Assistant Professor of Music

Email Address namminga@susqu.edu
Phone Number 570-372-4781

Patrick Long

Professor of Music

Email Address longp@susqu.edu
Phone Number 570-372-4289

Naomi Niskala

Associate Professor of Music

Email Address niskala@susqu.edu
Phone Number 570-372-4152

Percussion

Gregory Alico

Adjunct Faculty in Music

Email Address alico@susqu.edu
Phone Number 570-372-4281

Strings

Ruth Hunter

Adjunct Faculty in Music

Email Address hunterruth@susqu.edu
Phone Number 570-372-4281

Nelson Rodriguez-Parada

Adjunct Faculty in Music

Email Address rodriguezparada@susqu.edu
Phone Number 570-372-4281

Jennifer Wiley

Associate Professor of Music

Email Address jswiley@susqu.edu
Phone Number 570-372-4290

Andrew Rammon

Adjunct Faculty in Music

Email Address rammon@susqu.edu
Phone Number 570-372-4281

Marcus Smolensky

Adjunct Faculty in Music

Email Address smolensky@susqu.edu
Phone Number 570-372-4281

Voice

Amy Caron

Adjunct Faculty in Music

Email Address caron@susqu.edu
Phone Number 570-372-4281

Amanda Russo Stante

Visiting Assistant Professor Music

Email Address stante@susqu.edu
Phone Number 570-372-4474

Judith White

Adjunct Faculty in Music

Email Address jwhite@susqu.edu
Phone Number 570-372-4782

Jeffrey Fahnestock

Adjunct Faculty in Music

Email Address fahnesto@susqu.edu
Phone Number 570-372-4773

David Steinau

Associate Professor of Music

Email Address steinau@susqu.edu
Phone Number 570-372-4285

Woodwinds

Megan Carraher

Adjunct Faculty in Music

Email Address carraher@susqu.edu
Phone Number 570-372-4281

Gail Levinsky

Professor of Music

Email Address gblevinsky@susqu.edu
Phone Number 570-372-4266

Leslie Cullen

Adjunct Faculty in Music

Email Address cullenleslie@susqu.edu
Phone Number 570-372-4281

Patrick Quinn

Adjunct Faculty in Music

Email Address quinnp@susqu.edu
Phone Number 570-372-4281