Skip To Content

Women’s Studies is about ideas and activism

Gain a new perspective on the world with a minor in women's studies.

This practical minor nicely complements any major we offer. You'll learn to look at the world from a gender-sensitive perspective—a valuable skill no matter what career path you plan to take.

We'll help prepare you for careers in fields such as social work, human resources, criminal justice and healthcare. Many of our minors also go on to pursue Ph.Ds.

Whether you're a history major wanting to examine our past through a new lens, a psychology major looking to better understand gender roles or a creative writing major seeking to fully develop your characters, you'll benefit from a women's studies minor.

It's the perfect complement to any major at Susquehanna.

You'll look across disciplines, personally picking classes in everything from philosophy to biology to politics to art. You'll discover and explore the diverse realities of women's lives, while striving to understand how cultural attitudes and social structure affect both men and women.

While meeting the minor's 20 semester hours, you'll also satisfy many Central Curriculum requirements.

You'll have many opportunities to get involved on campus—chalking the walk to speak out against street harassment or celebrating working men and women at our Bread and Roses event.

Minor Requirements. The minor consists of 20 semester hours, including WMST-100 Introduction to Women's Studies (4 SH) and WMST-500 Research/Practicum in Women's Studies (2-4 SH), with the remaining semester hours coming from the array of courses listed under the "Courses" tab, as well as other women's studies courses offered on occasion by individual departments.

Barbara June McElroy, Ph.D.

Department: Accounting & Info Systems
Professor of Accounting

mcelroyb@susqu.edu
570-372-4242

Ashley Lynn Busby

Department: Art
Assistant Professor of Art

busby@susqu.edu
570-372-4721

Alissa A. Packer, Ph.D.

Department: Biology
Associate Professor of Biology

packer@susqu.edu
570-372-4217

Edward S. Slavishak, Ph.D.

Department: History
Associate Professor of History
Go: Czech Republic
Department Chair, History

slavishak@susqu.edu
570-372-4539

Linda A. McMillin, Ph.D.

Department: Provost
Co-COO/ Provost & Dean of Faculty
Professor of History
Adjunct Faculty Personal Development

mcmillin@susqu.edu
570-372-4127

Karol K. Weaver, Ph.D.

Department: History
Professor of History
Coordinator, Women's Studies Minor

weaverk@susqu.edu
570-372-4193

Christine Cooper Grace, Ph.D.

Department: Management
Associate Professor of Management

gracec@susqu.edu
570-372-4523

Lynn E. Palermo, Ph.D.

Department: Modern Languages
Associate Professor of French
Go Program: Villandraut

palermo@susqu.edu
570-372-4257

Coleen Patricia Zoller, Ph.D.

Department: Philosophy
Associate Professor of Philosophy
Department Chair, Philosophy
Go Program: Greece

zoller@susqu.edu
570-372-4163

Michele Ann DeMary, Ph.D.

Department: Political Science
Associate Professor of Political Science
Pre Law Advisor
Department Chair, Political Science

demary@susqu.edu
570-372-4181

Gretchen Sue Lovas, Ph.D.

Department: Psychology
Associate Professor of Psychology

lovas@susqu.edu
570-372-4029

Karla Gail Bohmbach, Ph.D.

Department: Religious Studies
Professor of Religious Studies
Department Chair, Religious Studies

bohmbach@susqu.edu
570-372-4167

Anna Andes, Ph.D.

Department: Theatre
Assistant Professor of Theatre
Go: Czech Republic

andes@susqu.edu
570-372-4664

Contact Us

Women's Studies Program

514 University Ave.
Selinsgrove, Pa. 17870

Get Directions

Location

Steele Hall

Campus Map

Phone & Email

Karol Weaver
570-372-4193
weaverk@susqu.edu

What's Next?