Skip To Content

Women’s Studies is about ideas and activism

Gain a new perspective on the world with a minor in women's studies.

This practical minor nicely complements any major we offer. You'll learn to look at the world from a gender-sensitive perspective—a valuable skill no matter what career path you plan to take.

We'll help prepare you for careers in fields such as social work, human resources, criminal justice and healthcare. Many of our minors also go on to pursue Ph.Ds.

Whether you're a history major wanting to examine our past through a new lens, a psychology major looking to better understand gender roles or a creative writing major seeking to fully develop your characters, you'll benefit from a women's studies minor.

You'll look across disciplines, personally picking classes in everything from philosophy to biology to politics to art. You'll discover and explore the diverse realities of women's lives, while striving to understand how cultural attitudes and social structure affect both men and women.

While meeting the minor's 20 semester hours, you'll also satisfy many Central Curriculum requirements.

You'll have many opportunities to get involved on campus—chalking the walk to speak out against street harassment or gaining practical experience through internships, including several at our Women's Resource Center.

Minor Requirements. The minor consists of 20 semester hours, including WMST-100 Introduction to Women's Studies (4 SH) and WMST-500 Research/Practicum in Women's Studies (2-4 SH), with the remaining semester hours coming from the array of courses listed under the "Courses" tab, as well as other women's studies courses offered on occasion by individual departments.

Karol K. Weaver, Ph.D.

Department: History
Professor of History
Coordinator, Women's Studies Minor

Emailweaverk@susqu.edu
Phone570-372-4193

Karla G. Bohmbach, Ph.D.

Department: Religious Studies
Professor of Religious Studies
Department Chair, Religious Studies

Emailbohmbach@susqu.edu
Phone570-372-4167

Linda A. McMillin, Ph.D.

Department: Provost
Co-COO/ Provost & Dean of Faculty
Professor of History
Adjunct Faculty Personal Development

Emailmcmillin@susqu.edu
Phone570-372-4127

Anna Andes, Ph.D.

Department: Theatre
Associate Professor of Theatre
Go: Czech Republic

Emailandes@susqu.edu
Phone570-372-4664

Michele Ann DeMary, Ph.D.

Department: Political Science
Associate Professor of Political Science
Pre Law Advisor
Department Chair, Political Science

Emaildemary@susqu.edu
Phone570-372-4181

Christine Cooper Grace, Ph.D.

Department: Management
Associate Professor of Management

Emailgracec@susqu.edu
Phone570-372-4523

Gretchen Sue Lovas, Ph.D.

Department: Psychology
Associate Professor of Psychology

Emaillovas@susqu.edu
Phone570-372-4029

Alissa A. Packer, Ph.D.

Department: Biology
Associate Professor of Biology

Emailpacker@susqu.edu
Phone570-372-4217

Lynn E. Palermo, Ph.D.

Department: Modern Languages
Associate Professor of French
Go Program: Villandraut

Emailpalermo@susqu.edu
Phone570-372-4257

Edward S. Slavishak, Ph.D.

Department: History
Associate Professor of History
Go: Czech Republic
Department Chair, History

Emailslavishak@susqu.edu
Phone570-372-4539

Coleen Patricia Zoller, Ph.D.

Department: Philosophy
Associate Professor of Philosophy
Department Chair, Philosophy
Go Program: Greece

Emailzoller@susqu.edu
Phone570-372-4163

Ashley Lynn Busby

Department: Art
Assistant Professor of Art

Emailbusby@susqu.edu
Phone570-372-4721

Many of our minors intern with the Women's Resource Center. They staff the Women's Resource Center; write two to three issues of the Women's Studies Newsletter, A Page of Her Own; and plan and host an activist event.

During the spring 2016 semester, women's studies minor and creative writing major Megan Rodriguez '17 served as the WRC intern.

"My internship showed me a real-world application for what I learned in class. By writing articles for the Women's Resource Center Newsletter, I got to combine an academic understanding of women's studies with active engagement in current events on campus and elsewhere in the world," says Rodriguez.

She designed, wrote and published three excellent issues of the newsletter and coordinated the 2016 Chalk the Walk.

Women's Studies

Contact Us

Women's Studies Program

514 University Ave.
Selinsgrove, Pa. 17870

Get Directions

Location

Steele Hall

Campus Map

Phone & Email

Karol Weaver
570-372-4193
weaverk@susqu.edu

What's Next?