February 01, 2018

Susquehanna University’s radio station, WQSU The Pulse, has been nominated for five Golden Microphone Trophy Awards from the Intercollegiate Broadcasting System.

WQSU’s nominations are in the following categories:

  • Best On-Air Pledge Drive for WQSU Pulse Pledge: WQSU team
  • Best Community Outreach Event for WQSU Toys for Tots: sophomore Jennifer Sauerman, of Ho Ho Kus, N.J., and senior Julie Lentz, of Lewisburg, Pa.
  • Best Campus News Coverage for WQSU Local News at 4 p.m.: sophomore Franz Smith, of Rahway, N.J., and sophomore Rave’n-DaJon Coleman, of Philadelphia
  • Best Sports Play-by-Play, Football for Susquehanna vs. McDaniel College: Zach Kline ’17 and volunteer Jack Burns
  • Best Use of Facebook for WQSU’s Facebook page: Jennifer Sauerman

“We are so pleased the Intercollegiate Broadcasting System has recognized the hard work the WQSU team consistently puts forward,” said general manager Dawn Benfer. “At WQSU students get the same experience as they would receive in a commercial radio station. And they gain the experience and confidence that will make them ideal candidates for a career in the broadcast industry.”

The radio station’s success was recently recognized by the Pennsylvania Association of Broadcasters.

Award winners will be announced in March during the Intercollegiate Broadcasting System’s annual conference at the Hotel Pennsylvania, Manhattan, New York City.

WQSU is celebrating its 50th year in operation. The station began as the Susquehanna Radio Association in 1965. Since then, the station has grown from a 10-watt operation serving little more than the Selinsgrove community to a 12,000-watt station, making it the most powerful student-run college FM radio station in Pennsylvania, serving approximately one-third of the state.