May 01, 2023

Less than five years after being established, Susquehanna University’s chapter of the Association for Women in Sports Media has been named 2023 Student Chapter of the Year by the national organization.

The award — which recognizes the chapter’s “hard work and enthusiasm” in enlisting guest speakers and organizing field trips and fundraising events — was presented at AWSM’s national convention in Charlotte, North Carolina. Six Susquehanna students were in attendance to accept the award.

Susquehanna’s student chapter is led by Abigail MacMillan ’24, president; Emma Sacco ’23, vice president; Jenna Horning ’24, treasurer; Trystan Layton ’23, social media chair; and Luke Waldner ’24, secretary. David Kaszuba, associate professor of communications, serves as the chapter’s advisor.

MacMillan praised all chapter members for their commitment to AWSM and for supporting women working in sports media.

“To see my chapter win this award means the world to me,” MacMillan said. “I am ecstatic and very proud of all the hard work that my executive board and I have been doing for this chapter. I am looking forward to the growth of this chapter.”

AWSM launched its student chapter program in 2011–12, and it has since grown to include chapters at just 17 campuses in the United States. Susquehanna was awarded its student chapter in 2018.

“Susquehanna has been an extremely active student chapter that has brought in a wide range of guest speakers during Zoom and in-person meetings; hosted a volleyball tournament, bake sale and T-shirt sale; and spotlights members on its social media channels,” said Iliana Limón Romero, AWSM president and Los Angeles Times assistant managing editor for sports. “Susquehanna has worked hard and earned chapter of the year honors.”

Other student chapters that have won the Student Chapter of the Year Award include Michigan State University, Oklahoma State University, Pennsylvania State University, Quinnipiac University and the University of Michigan.