• From left are volunteer Jack Burns, Dylan Smith ’18, Zach Kline ’17, Aaron Lichtel ’20, retired Professor Larry Augustine and Dawn Benfer, WQSU general manager.

February 23, 2018

Susquehanna University’s radio station, WQSU The Pulse, has received two Pennsylvania Association of Broadcasters (PAB) Excellence in Broadcasting awards.

WQSU won for

  • WQSU 50 Years of College Radio, WQSU team, Judge’s Merit Award
  • WQSU River Hawks Football, Dylan Smith ’18, Zach Kline ’17 and volunteer Jack Burns, Outstanding Radio Coverage of a Local Sporting Event

“I am so proud of the entire WQSU staff,” said general manager Dawn Benfer. “Their enthusiasm and their passion for broadcasting is contagious not only to me but to the entire university community.”

The radio station recently received five Golden Microphone Trophy Award nominations from the Intercollegiate Broadcasting System. Award winners will be announced in March during the Intercollegiate Broadcasting System’s annual conference at the Hotel Pennsylvania, New York City.

WQSU is celebrating its 50th year in operation. The station began as the Susquehanna Radio Association in 1965. Since then, the station has grown from a 10-watt operation serving little more than the Selinsgrove community to a 12,000-watt station, making it the most powerful student-run college FM radio station in Pennsylvania, serving approximately one-third of the state.

PAB awards will be distributed at a luncheon on May 7 at the Hotel Hershey.