April 01, 2014

Several of Susquehanna’s fall programs reeled in major awards this past season.

For the men’s soccer team, Andrew Murphy ’14 was named the Landmark Conference Offensive Player of the Year. Murphy, who was also named First-Team All-Conference, led the Crusaders in nearly every offensive category including goals (10), game-winning goals (4) and points (23), and started all 20 games. He was also named to the National Soccer Coaches Association of America’s Scholar All-East Team. Murphy was one of only four Landmark Conference players recognized on the All-East Team.

The women’s volleyball team saw two of its players pick up major conference awards. Sophomore libero Sarah Paluck ’16 was named the Specialist of the Year, while Eryn Bryne ’17 was tapped as the Rookie of the Year. Both selections were firsts for Susquehanna.

Paluck came in second in the conference for digs and recorded 43 service aces in 38 matches played. She is currently fifth in Susquehanna history for digs, with 1,237.

Bryne was second in the conference for kills and recorded 76 service aces, 273 digs and 70 blocs. Her 403 kills rank ninth in single-season history at Susquehanna, and her 76 service aces were second.

These were the first major player awards for the Crusader volleyball program since Lindsey Jankiewicz ’11 was named the 2010 Co-Player of the Year.

Finally, head men’s and women’s cross country coach Marty Owens was named the Landmark Conference Men’s Cross Country Coach of the Year for the fifth time in his career.