July 07, 2020

Susquehanna University recently honored students, student organizations and faculty with leadership awards.

Susquehanna’s Leadership Awards were created to recognize awardees’ commitment to the betterment of the university and surrounding communities. The awards are made possible through the Baylor Family Endowment. Established in 1993, the endowment is an expression of the Baylor family’s appreciation for the university’s continued commitment to the region.

Recipients of Susquehanna’s 2020 Leadership Awards are:

  • Susquehanna University Leadership Award: Donovan Gayles ’20, Budd Lake, New Jersey.
  • Lynn H. Askew Student Volunteer of the Year: Jackson Long ’20, Camp Hill, Pennsylvania.
  • Emily E. Bowling Outstanding Career in Service: Kara Eckert ’20, Boalsburg, Pennsylvania.
  • Greek Excellence in Service: William Ward ’20, Hegins, Pennsylvania.
  • Greek Member of the Year: Cameron Laudenslager ’21, Orefield, Pennsylvania, and Stephanie Shirk ’20, York, Pennsylvania.
  • New Program Initiative: Marissa Redding ’22, Fairfield, Pennsylvania, for the Kindness Campaign.
  • Leadership in Athletics: Kasey Bost ’20, Eldersburg, Maryland, and Amanda Lemire ’22, Auburn, New Hampshire.
  • Outstanding Contribution to Intercultural Awareness: Mayra Perez ’20, Hanover, Pennsylvania, president of ALAS.
  • Organizational President: Mikayla Hill ’20, Philadelphia, president of the Black Student Union.
  • Outstanding First Year: Billy Mild, Bound Brook, New Jersey; and Arianna Sivio, Westbury, New York.
  • Outstanding Sophomores: Devonne Tourre, Columbia, Maryland; Raelyn Lares, East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania; Erica Getz, Mapleton Depot, Pennsylvania; and Marcellus Martin, Willow Grove, Pennsylvania.
  • Outstanding Juniors: Sarah Goshorn, Port Royal, Pennsylvania; Kali Rebuck, Paxinos, Pennsylvania; John Morris, McClure, Pennsylvania; and Liz Ludwig, Mercer, Pennsylvania.
  • Outstanding Seniors, Ashley Ward, Philadelphia; Devin Rossi, Glenside, Pennsylvania; Gian Fabian, Lebanon, Pennsylvania; Jordan Sanderson, Mount Wolf, Pennsylvania; Ben Horine, West Chester, Pennsylvania; Jahmir Wilson, Philadelphia; Deon Robinson, Bronx, New York; Jordan Jansson, Basking Ridge, New Jersey; Nolan Nightingale, Lisbon, New Hampshire; Michael McGimpsey, Old Bridge, New Jersey; Linda Hanson, New York, New York; Kelly Weigle, Columbia, Pennsylvania; Anthony McCoy, Rosedale, New York.
  • Baylor Leadership Award, Rachel Sweger ’20, of Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania.
  • Joel Cunningham Outstanding Service Learning Faculty Member of the Year, Shari Jacobson, associate professor of anthropology.
  • Beth Winger Award for Advising, Michael Thomas, assistant professor of philosophy.