August 18, 2021

Susquehanna has restructured the School of Arts and Sciences into three schools — School of the Arts, School of Humanities and School of Natural and Social Sciences — and they are overseen by two deans. A national search will be conducted for both dean positions.

“This decision was made with faculty input to more evenly distribute programs and resources,” said Provost Dave Ramsaran.

The School of the Arts will encompass the departments of art and design, theatre and music. The School of Humanities will include the departments of communications, education, English and creative writing, history, languages, literatures and cultures, philosophy, and religious studies. Both schools share one dean and will function like a single school internally. Dr. Betsy Verhoeven, associate professor of English and creative writing, is serving as interim dean this academic year.

The School of Natural and Social Sciences will encompass the departments of biology, chemistry, earth and environmental sciences, ecology, mathematics and computer science, physics, political science, psychology and sociology and anthropology. Dr. Kathy Straub, department chair and professor of earth and environmental sciences, is serving as the interim dean for the duration of the academic year.

Matthew Rousu will continue to serve as dean of the Sigmund Weis School of Business.